Author Archives: admin

Society for Exact Philosophy – Registration Open


The 43rd annual meeting of the Society for Exact Philosophy will be held at McMaster University (Hamilton, ON), 22-24 May 2015.

Keynote Speakers

  • Kathrin Koslicki (Alberta)
  • Diana Raffman (Toronto)
  • Gillian Russell (Washington U)

Conference organizers:

  • Sandra Lapointe (McMaster)
  • David DeVidi (Waterloo).

For a full list of speakers, see the conference website.

Online registration for this year’s meeting and banquet is now open.

Registration DEADLINE: May 19th.

To register, get more information or see a roster of talks, proceed now to the conference website

See you in Hamilton!

Periodisation and Relevance in the History of Analytical Philosophy

The next workshop to be held at McMaster on 16 April will feature the following presentations:

Gilbert Ryle’s Fregean Inheritance

Michael Kremer, University of Chicago


Crossing the Fregean Divide? Metaphilosophy and Purpose in the History of Analytic Philosophy

Aaron Preston, Valparaiso University


When and Why Did People Begin Calling Themselves ‘Analytic Philosophers’?

Greg Frost-Arnold, Hobart and William Smith


Periodization, Relevance and the Traditionalist Approach in the History of Analytical Philosophy

Sandra Lapointe, McMaster University




Logic in Kant’s Wake. Second Workshop

The second instalment of the workshop will be held at McGill University, Montreal, 18-19 March 2015, Thomson House, Room 403


Sandra Lapointe, McMaster University

Lydia Patton, Virginia Tech

Nicholas F. Stang, University of Toronto

Clinton Tolley, University of California, San Diego


Workshop: Innovations in the History of Analytical Philosophy

McMaster University, 9-11 January 2015

In the last twenty years the history of analytical philosophy has entered a new and exciting phase of development. One strand of these new approaches is a broad engagement with a wider range of figures, topics and disciplines outside of philosophy as it was traditionally conceived. Analytic philosophy began in the ground-breaking work of thinkers who questioned the nature of philosophy itself, and one of the tasks of the history of analytical philosophy is to acquaint philosophers with this revolutionary past. This will not only allow a deeper understanding of how current problems arose, but also create the potential to change what we value for the future of analytic philosophy. The conference aims at presenting some of the most innovative work being done in this field by some of its most prominent junior scholars. The papers presented at the event are projected to appear in Innovations in the History of Analytical Philosophy (Palgrave).

Invited speakers include:

  •  Andy Arana (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
  • Catarina Duthil Novaes and Leon Geerdink (Groningen)
  • Greg Frost-Arnold (Hobart and William Smith)
  • Daniel Harris (Hunter College)
  • Jeremy Heis (University of California, Irvine)
  • Colin Johnston (Stirling)
  • Alexander Klein (California State University, Long Beach)
  • Uriah Kriegel (CNRS-Paris)
  • Kris McDaniel (Syracuse)
  • Lydia Patton (Virginia Tech)
  • Marcus Rossberg (UConn)
  • Audrey Yap (Victoria)